The MGM logo: a hand-drawn cartoon of Mahler at the podium, glaring at the audience

Main heading: The Music of Gustav Mahler: A Catalogue of Manuscript and Printed Sources [rule] Paul Banks





Instrumental Works


Vocal Works


Unfinished Works


Lost and Spurious Works






Mahler's Publishers


Supplementary Essays




Using the Catalogue


Conventions & Abbreviations




Index of Works


Site Map













Lost, Doubtful and Spurious Works


Polka mit einem Trauermarsch als Einleitung (c.1867–8)

Die Türken (?voice and piano; ?1867–8)

[Unidentified work: source for the Third Symphony] (c.1869–75)

Piano pieces (?–1875)

Herzog Ernst von Schwaben (opera; 1875)

Nocturne for violoncello (by 1875)

Violin Sonata (1876)

First movement of a Quintet (1876)

Quartet for piano, 2 violins and viola (1876)

[Setting of a text by Vincenz Zusner] (?1875–7)

Symphony (1876–8)

Piano Suite (1876–8)

Movement for String Quintet (1876–8)

Sonata Movement (Andante) (1876–8)

Piano Quartet (c. 1877)

Scherzo for Piano Quintet (1878)

Die Argonauten (opera; 1878)

Nordic Symphony (1879–?1882)

Symphony in A minor (1880–)

Quartet Movement (c.1879)

Vorspiel mit Chor (1883)

Trauerhymne auf die Kaiserin Maria Anna

Incidental Music to Der Trompeter von Säkkingen (1884)

Das Volkslied (1885)

Opera Project (1888)

Opera Project (1901)

Unidentified albumleaf (1906)


Lieder dedicated to Marie Lorenz (probably by Rudolf Krzyzanowski) (?1875–1880)

Symphonisches Praeludium (spurious)

Level A conformance icon, 
          W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0 Creative Commons Licence

ORCID logo and link to author's page © 2007-21 Paul Banks  |  This page was lasted edited on 07 January 2021